New 7 Wonders of the World

June 1, 2007

I was just listening to the great podcast “Three Things You Should Know” and learned about something really interesting. Apparently a worldwide initiative is in place to vote for new wonders of the world. Since 6 of the 7 wonders of the ancient world (the Colossus of Rhodes, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Lighthouse of Alexandria, Temple of Artemis, Statue of Zeus, and the Mausoleum of Mausollos) no longer exist, someone deemed it necessary to decide what the 7 wonders of the modern world are. It’s quite interesting actually, and there are some great candidates (I’ll give my opinion on them, but I’ll admit I don’t know about some of these):

  • The Acropolis in Athens, Greece
    • Impressive structure with a great classical signifigance. I love me some ancient Greek culture too.
  • Alhambra in Granada, Spain
    • It looks impressive, but I honestly don’t know much about it.
  • Angkor in Cambodia
    • Again, an impressive looking structure, but not too knowledgeable.
  • The Pyramid at Chichén Itzá in Mexico
    • Very cool native structure. I’d love to visit this one.
  • Christ Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    • I’ve seen this before, but just learned some more about it recently. Awesome looking statue, would be awesome to see in real life.
  • The Colosseum in Rome, Italy
    • Roman structure is amazing, and the fact that the Colosseum is still in active use today is great. Another one I will see someday.
  • The Easter Island Statues in Chile
    • Mysterious statues, but to me, not really “Wonder of the World” status
  • The Eiffel Tower in Paris, France
    • One of the most recognizeable structures in the world, could definitely be a Wonder
  • The Great Wall of China in……. China….
    • Another amazing structure that has stood the test of time, and also one of the most recognizeable structures in the world.
  • Hagia Sophia in Istanbul, Turkey
    • Very interesting structure, but again, I don’t know a lot about it.
  • Kiyomizu Temple in Kyoto, Japan
    • I love Japanese structure and culture, but I don’t know much about the temple
  • The Kremlin / St. Basil in Moscow, Russia
    • Very interesting construction, and even though a lot of people might not know it, most people equate this one structure with classical Russian archetecture
  • Machu Picchu in Peru
    • I know nothing about it.
  • Neuschwanstein Castle in Schwangau, Switzerland
    • Again, never heard of it before, but it looks really impressive. I love castles, and the complex design is amazing.
  • Petra in Jordan
    • I’ve seen this one before, but I don’t know a whole lot about it. Looks like an amazing thing to see in person though.
  • The Statue of Liberty in New York, USA
    • Of course I like this one. It’s an impressive symbol and holds a lot of meaning and symbolism for the world around.
  • Stonehenge in the United Kingdom
    • A super recognizeable structure for the whole world, and so mysterious. Would make sense for it to be a Wonder since it is so shrouded in mystery while being an incredible feat of engineering.
  • Sydney Opera House in Australia
    • I was surprised to see this on here, but in retrospect it would make sense as it was one of the first prominent works of avant garde abstract architecture, and one of the few things that got Australia as recognizeable as it is today.
  • Taj Mahal in Agra, India
    • Amazing structure that I would love to visit one day.
  • Timbuktu in Mali
    • I know why this is on the list, but I don’t know enough about it.

This is a really fascinating thing to me. I wish this were more highly publicized because I think a lot of people should be helping decide this, rather than just whoever stumbles across it. I’ll publish a story about it on Generation Q I think to get the word out a little more.

Vote for the New 7 Wonders here 

One Response to “New 7 Wonders of the World”

  1. meera said

    taj mahal of cuz.the building of love…

Leave a Reply

