Once Again, Into the Abyss…

June 20, 2007

So I re-installed my copy of World of Warcraft yesterday. And downloaded a free trial of the expansion, Burning Crusades. And re-activated my account. Once more I descend into the abyss that is my geekery.

If I had the choice, I’d ditch WoW in a hearbeat to return to the classic days of Ultima Online, before it went all wonky. I used to play that game for hours, and never really got very far in improving my characters. But I still had a great time. Then they made it all 3D, and then started introducing weird crap like Samurai and other things. Luckily I had stopped playing before that happened. The obvious solution, of course, is to join one of the many free shards that are floating around. You can download the game’s client for free nowadays and just jump on someone’s free server and play. But it’s not the same experience as it used to be. Alas, one can rarely return to those carefree days of yore…

So for now I’m content with World of Warcraft. Katie from work plays and I’ve started a new character on the same server that she plays on, so at least now I’ll actually know someone that plays rather than all of my friends just kinda looking at me funny whenever I mention it.

But my Blood Elf Warlock will never be quite as cool as my Mage with the misspelled name, “Pheonix.”

One Response to “Once Again, Into the Abyss…”

  1. takkostas said

    thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

