Wow… or… WoW Rather

June 21, 2007

So I’m in WoW mode now apparently. I just had my first night of playing for a while, and it’s quite enjoyable so far. Started my Blood Elf Priest “Enrith” and managed to get to level 10. One of the things that I’ve noticed most about the game so far is the artistic skill put into the design of the environment of this game. Namely I’m referencing the Blood Elf capital of Silvermoon City. However geeky you might think that the game in general is, you have to appreciate the skill put into designing and fleshing out the designs in this game. It’s quite impressive to just travel around this massive game world and see what these people have created.


A screenshot entering Silvermoon City

Getting back into this realm of geekdom has actually inspired me to re-read the work I’ve put into the world I created a long time back and do some revising and adding. I created a new fantasy-based world with it’s own unique races (none of the human-dwarf-elf-orc etc standards), gods, histories, and soon to be magics and languages. It’s entertaining and a good outlet for some of the creativity that I’ve been missing in my life. One of the newest races I’ve added are called the “Vespertine,” the name being inspired by a song by my friend Edward’s band “The Belvedines.” “Vespertine” is an adjective that relates to something happening in the evening, usually in biology. It was also apparently the name of an album by Bjork, which I didn’t know.

 

Anyway, I’ve actually been pretty productive at work today and I’m going to jump back into it and get some more work done before I leave at 3.

Leave a Reply

